Merv Morrison Memorial Chess Tournament 2020 is a 6 round chess tournament held from 24th to 26th October 2020 at the Auckland Chess Centre.

Merv Morrison Memorial 2020

Auckland Chess Centre exterior

Table of Contents

Merv Morrison Memorial 2020

Saturday 24th October to Monday 26th October 2020.

Entry Details

Entry Fees

$50 per player.

Entry Instructions

No entries accepted after 9am 24th October 2020 or when full.

Only first 50 fully paid player entries accepted due to space constraints.

Club account for payment:12-3011-0713528-00 (state name & “MervM”).

Use online entry form to enter.

Event Information

Summarised information available in printable PDF brochure.


Saturday 24th October to Monday 26th October 2020.


Auckland Chess Centre, 17 Cromwell Street, Mount Eden, Auckland.


Open to all players.

Non-NZL players must have FIDE ID issued by their chess federation.

NZL players without FIDE ID must provide full Date of Birth.

Only first 50 fully paid player entries accepted due to space constraints.


6 round Swiss tournament, NZCF & FIDE rated where possible.

Time Controls

90 minutes each player plus 30 seconds increment per move from move one.


 Start TimeDay & Date
Players meeting9.15amSaturday 24th October 2020
Round 19.30amSaturday 24th October 2020
Round 22.30pmSaturday 24th October 2020
Round 39.30amSunday 25th October 2020
Round 42.30pmSunday 25th October 2020
Round 59.30amMonday 26th October 2020
Round 62.30pmMonday 26th October 2020

Prize giving as soon as possible after completion of the last game.

Prize Fund

Under 1800$220$180$80

Plus Grade Prizes to the value of $300

(The under1800 winner wins the Merv Morrison Trophy for 2020)


No player may claim more than one prize.

In the event of a tie, prize money will be shared.

Players eligible for open, under1800, or grade prize, would receive the highest monetary value prize.


Chief Organiser: IO Michael V R Steadman.

Chief Arbiter: IA Keong Ang.


Vega Webpage View

Link to Vega Results.


Prizewinners would be listed here.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
New Zealand Chess News sponsor
InterServer Web Hosting and VPS
Of Interest

Upcoming Events

Auckland Chess Centre exterior

NZ Junior Championships 2020

New Zealand Junior Chess Championships 2020, Auckland. 26th September to 1st October 2020. Incorporating NZ Junior Chess Championship, NZ Junior Rapid Chess Championship, NZ Junior Blitz Chess Championship.

Read More »
Entry Form

Merv Morrison Memorial 2020

Submit your entry online now.

Contact Us

Contact Information

Find Us Here:

Leave us a message